Cancer

Each year, there are an estimated 3,000 new cases of cancer in Luxembourg, the most frequent being breast, prostate, colon and skin cancer.

1 in 8 deaths is caused by cancer

The disease is responsible for at least a quarter of all deaths in the country and remains one of today’s main health burdens, both in terms of pain and healthcare cost. This makes it ever more important that medical professionals, researchers, patients associations, politicians and the public work hand in hand to make a difference.

One major step in this effort is the National Cancer Plan, which was presented in 2014 by the Ministry of Health. This ambitious plan to fight cancer on multiple fronts gives a key role to IBBL in advancing cancer research. Indeed, since the creation of the biobank, we have been actively supporting several cancer research projects, some of which are run under the umbrella of the Personalised Medicine Consortium (PMC).

Personalising lung cancer therapy

cancer-lung

Led by oncologist Dr Guy Berchem (Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg & LIH), the main aim of this PMC’s flaship lung cancer programme is to discover and evaluate molecules in the blood or tumour tissue of cancer patients that could be used to improve diagnosis or treatment decision.

The study compares survival between patients that received targeted therapy, based on the presence of specific mutations in their tumour, and those patients that received standard therapy. To date, over 200 patients have been recruited for the study.

Publishing first results

cancer-publishingSome of the cancer studies that we support have already generated significant results, such as the colorectal cancer study, funded by the Fondation Cancer and led by Prof. Serge Haan from the University of Luxembourg. The researchers on this project published their first findings in a prestigious scientific journal in 2014, following the discovery of 2 new molecules potentially suitable for early diagnosis of colorectal cancer. It is worth mentioning that colon cancer can be cured in 9 out of 10 cases when detected in time. The project has inspired two other publications since then, and the team continues looking at powerful markers that could help reduce cancer incidence.

To carry out their research, scientists rely on the support from the population. To date a total of 112 patients volunteered to donate part of their colon tumour for research. These samples were collected by surgeons in Luxembourgish hospitals and then immediately brought to the biobank, where our pathologists processed and analysed the tissues. We coordinated all of the steps involved in the collection, processing and quality control of these biological samples and their associated medical data.

This collection from the Luxembourgish population will also help researchers carry out three new pilot studies funded by the Fonds National de la Recherche and the PMC.

Enhancing the national fight against cancer

The scope of the collection is expected to be expended to all cancer types. Organised within the National Plan Cancer, the initiative relies on a joint effort between all of the actors in cancer research in Luxembourg: the hospitals, the Laboratoire National de Santé and the biobank. In future, any cancer patient that receives health care in Luxembourg will thereby have the opportunity to advance cancer research by donating a sample of tumour tissues. The collection will undoubtedly be a great asset to the national fight against cancer.

Our national projects 

IBBL is involved in a number of national cancer research projects, in close collaboration with all major biomedical research and healthcare actors in Luxembourg. Below a selection of some of our latest projects. 

Sample collection – lung cancer (Lung Cancer Study - LCS)

Lung cancer is responsible for the most deaths due to cancer each year in both men and women worldwide, and once diagnosed, the 10 year survival rate is poor (<15%). This poor prognosis is based in large part on the absence of an effective diagnostic test for the disease. The main objective of this study is to discover and validate molecular biomarkers for lung cancer and develop a molecular-based diagnostic test specific for lung cancer. The study involves the collection of saliva, urine, blood and tissues from patients diagnosed with lung cancer, as well as a portion of the malignant fluid in the lungs. Patients who will undergo surgical resection of their tumor also donate a section of the tumor tissue and a piece of normal lung tissue adjacent to the tumor.

Sample collection - colorectal cancer (Suppressor Of Cytokine Signaling – SOCS)

The goal of the project is to understand how disease develops and to use that knowledge to develop better diagnostic tests and treatments. The samples you will donate will be stored at the Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL) for research studies. The first research study in the project is called “Discovery of new therapeutic targets for colorectal cancer”. This study is funded by the Fondation Cancer and the Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL). This collaborative study is coordinated by the University of Luxembourg and the Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS) in partnership with IBBL. 

Validation of Biomarker MYO5B (MyoRPROG)

This is a POC (Proof of Concept) where IBBL will be a partner of University of Luxembourg. IBBL will perform the Validation of Biomarker MYO5B, a prognostic biomarker for colorectal cancer discovered by the University of Luxembourg. 

Pilot study to explore the Integrated Personalized Functional Profiling (PFP) for cancer patients with metastatic gastrointestinal cancer (mGIC) or recurrent glioblastoma (rGBM) in Luxembourg (Pilot-PFP)

This research study is part of the development of personalised medicine for the treatment of cancer in Luxembourg. The objective of the “Pilot-PFP” study is to evaluate the setting up of a platform in Luxembourg to issue a treatment recommendation to physicians. In the long term, the goal of this platform will be to determine the best treatment for each tumour by mapping the functional profile and the genetic profile of the tumour. The pilot-PFP study is an initiative of the Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH). The analysis platform will consist of the National Health Laboratory (LNS), IBBL, the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) and the National Sequencing Centre (LuxGen). This platform aims to analyse the cancer cells of patients with metastatic gastro-intestinal cancer or recurrent glioblastoma; compare several available treatments; and identify the best potential treatment for the tumour. This study is a pilot study that should demonstrate LIH researchers the feasibility of the implementation of this analysis platform in Luxembourg. As a result, a small number of patients will be included in the study (20 patients at 2 sites in Luxembourg – the Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL) and the Hôpital Robert Schuman (HRS). 

National Cancer Plan 2014-2018

In 2014, the government of Luxembourg initiated the first National Cancer Plan 2014-2018 in order to foster the interactions between the different actors fighting against cancer in Luxembourg. One of the proposed actions was to establish a national sample collection dedicated to research in oncology and oncology related fields, based on a close collaboration between the hospitals, the physicians, the LNS and the Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL). This strategy allows a uniform forward-looking collection of biological resources to be prepared and stored at IBBL and opens opportunities for their use in future studies. Such a resource has the important advantage of providing larger sample collections, ready to use for research. Samples and clinical data of patients with suspected or diagnosed cancer are collected, processed and stored for future research purposes in the field of oncology or oncology related fields.

Non-invasive microbiome-derived multi-omic biomarkers for early-stage colorectal cancer detection (MiCa)

The research project project aims to identify the colorectal cancer (CRC) associated changes in the structure and function of the microbial community along the human gastrointestinal tract. Its higher objective is to implement a new, non-invasive model for the early detection of CRC based on the existing Faecal Occult Blood Test. IBBL is in charge of the collection, processing, transport, aliquoting and storage of the samples (blood, saliva, urine).  

Molecular diagnostic programme for better cancer treatment (MDLUX2)

The project is aimed at the improvement of healthcare in Luxembourg, and more specifically at ameliorating the outcome of cancer treatment by assessing the value and feasibility of implementing molecular diagnostics tests as part of cancer care in Luxembourg. A set of standardised molecular diagnostic tests will be performed on tissue samples from each patient taking part in MDLUX2. The project is jointly funded by the National Cancer Institute (INC), the Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg (IBBL), the Fondation Cancer and the Fondatioun Kriibskrank Kanner. It is also supported by the Laboratoire national de santé (LNS), Luxembourg’s hospitals and other collaborating partners.   

Role of the miR-371-373 cluster in tumor initiation and metastatic colonization (MiRMet)

The project aims at understanding the formation of tumour Initiating Cells (TICs) in colorectal cancer and their contribution to metastasis. Specifically, it seeks to unveil the mechanisms underlying the acquisition of metastatic properties with the ultimate goal of providing novel molecular targets for the future development of therapeutics against CRC. The project is a collaboration between the University of Luxembourg and IBBL.  

A multi-omics based single-cell strategy to overcome therapy-driven resistance in Glioblastoma: An entry-point for personalized treatment

Malignant brain tumours are a highly heterogeneous disease with a very poor clinical outcome. In particular, Glioblastoma multiforme (GBM) displays very strong genetic heterogeneity. Despite aggressive therapy including surgical resection, radiation and chemotherapy, GBM patients show a very rapid disease progression with only a mean life expectancy of 12-15 months. The current clinical diagnostic still lacks reasonable resolution into tumour heterogeneity for optimized and personalized treatment strategies. The project aims to establish strategies for future clinical interrogation of intra-tumoral heterogeneity. We plan to analyse GBM patient specimens of initial and recurrent tumors at a single-cell level to reveal genetic and transcriptomic identities contributing to disease progression and therapy-related resistance. At the same time we will establish patient-derived xenografts (PDXs – tumor tissue that has been taken from a patient and implanted into mice for research purposes) from initial and relapse GBM samples of the same patients. These PDXs will enable pre-clinical personalized treatment approaches overcoming therapeutic resistance associated with heterogeneity.

Effects of chemotherapy-associated weight loss on pesticide burden and assessment of potential interference with chemotherapy regimes (PEST-CHEM)

We are regularly exposed to toxic products and these are accumulating in our body. Researchers in Luxembourg are now able to identify the level of exposure to certain toxic products through the analysis of blood or hair samples collected from healthy people. Weight loss is often observed during chemotherapy for patients with gastro-intestinal cancer disease. This weight loss may be a consequence of the surgery or may be due to the chemotherapy itself. A significant weight loss can lead to the release of toxic product residues from fat bodies. The researchers would like to understand (i) whether the weight loss induced by cancer treatments, either surgery or chemotherapy, leads to the release of toxic products to which the patient would have been exposed earlier, and (ii) if the release of these compounds would have an impact on the treatment efficiency. Hair and blood samples, as well as medical data, will be collected for the study and processed and stored at IBBL.   

Biomarker identification for colorectal cancer (BiCRC)

This project is a collaborative project between the CHL, IBBL, LNS and the University of Luxembourg. The main objective of this project is to investigate predictive or prognostic biomarkers for colon or rectal cancers. The biomarkers evaluated within this project have been either considered in individual studies as being statistically capable of predicting the outcome of the patient or not yet investigated for this purpose. The study will compare all these factors with the Dukes staging system, to see whether they would be able to complete the current clinical decision making tool.   

Survival prolongation by rationale Innovative Genomics (SPRING)

SPRING is a clinical trial Phase I and II to test the safety and efficacy of a tri-therapy approach in advanced/metastatic Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) and to retrospectively assess the ability of integrated genomics and transcriptomics to match patients to the combination. The ultimate goal is to improve advanced lung cancer treatment, enhance clinical benefit and increase survival. IBBL is responsible for providing tissue collection kits and processing the collected tissue samples. The project is a collaboration between CHL, the Clinical and Epidemiological Investigation Center of the LIH, and IBBL.    

Get Involved

Cancer patients that would like to help advance cancer research, can ask their oncologist whether there are any ongoing research projects that they could participate in. IBBL has several ongoing collaborations with oncologists from Luxembourgish hospitals. Many of these projects are specific to a particular cancer type. However, within the Luxembourg National Cancer Plan, it is foreseen that eventually parts from all the tumour tissues that are surgically removed from cancer patients be included in the biobank for research purposes, if the patient has given his consent.

Krebs

Jedes Jahr gibt es geschätzte 3.000 neue Fälle von Krebs in Luxemburg, wobei die häufigsten Erkrankungen Brust-, Prostata-, Darm- und Hautkrebs sind.


Weltweit ist jeder achte Todesfall durch Krebs verursacht

Die Krankheit ist für mindestens ein Viertel aller Todesfälle im Land verantwortlich und bleibt eine groβe Belastung, sowohl was das persönliche Leiden der Patienten betrifft, als auch die Kosten für das Gesundheitssystem. Aus diesem Grund ist es umso wichtiger, dass Ärzte, Forscher, Patientenvereinigungen, Politiker und die Öffentlichkeit Hand in Hand arbeiten, um etwas zu verändern.

Ein gewaltiger Schritt in diesem Bestreben ist der nationale Krebsplan, der 2014 vom Gesundheitsministerium vorgestellt wurde. In diesem ambitionierten Plan zur Bekämpfung von Krebs an mehreren Fronten spielt die IBBL eine Schlüsselrolle, da sie die Krebsforschung konsequent fördert. In der Tat, unterstützen wir seit unserer Gründung  einige Programme zur Krebsforschung aktiv, von denen wiederum einige im Rahmen des Personalised Medicine Consortium (PMC) durchgeführt werden.

Personalisierung der Behandlung bei Lungenkrebs

cancer-lung

Unter der Leitung des Onkologen Dr. Guy Berchem (Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg & LIH) ziehlt das Krebsprogramm, das Aushängeschild des PMC, hauptsächliche darauf ab, Moleküle im Blut- oder Tumorgewebe von Krebspatienten zu entdecken und zu bewerten, um so die Diagnose und Entscheidung über die beste Behandlung zu vereinfachen.

Für die Lungenkrebsstudie wurden bisher schon über 200 Patienten rekrutiert. Die Studie vergleicht die Überlebensdaten von Patienten die mit einer Standardtherapie behandelt wurden mit denen von Patienten die eine gezielte Therapie, basierend auf bestimmten Mutationen, erhielten.

Veröffentlichung erster Ergebnisse

cancer-publishingEinige der Krebsstudien des Programms haben schon wichtige Ergebnisse erbracht, wie die Studie über Darmkrebs, die von Prof. Serge Haan der Universität Luxemburg geleitet wird und die ebenfalls von der Fondation Cancer finanziert wurde. Die Forscher dieses Projekts veröffentlichten ihre ersten Ergebnisse im Sommer 2014 in einer angesehenen wissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschrift, nachdem sie 2 neue Moleküle entdeckt hatten, welche potenziell für die Früherkennung von kolorektalem Krebs geeignet sind. Es ist erwähnenswert, dass Darmkrebs in 9 von 10 Fällen geheilt werden kann, wenn er rechtzeitig erkannt wird. Das Projekt hat seither zu zwei weiteren Publikationen geführt und das Team sucht weiterhin nach starken Marker, die dazu beitragen könnten, die Zahl der Krebsfälle zu reduzieren.

Die Forscher benötigten die Unterstützung vieler Krebspatienten: bisher spendeten insgesamt 112 Patienten freiwillig eine Probe ihres Tumors für dieses Projekt. Diese Tumorproben wurden von Chirurgen in Luxemburger Krankenhäusern gesammelt und dann unmittelbar zur Biobank gebracht, wo unsere Pathologen die Gewebe bearbeiteten. Wir koordinierten alle Schritte von der Sammlung, über die Verarbeitung, bis zur Qualitätskontrolle dieser biologischen Proben und der damit verbundenen medizinischen Daten.

Diese Sammlung aus der luxemburgischen Bevölkerung wird auch dazu beitragen, dass die Forscher drei neue Pilotstudien durchführen können, die vom “Fonds National de la Recherche” und dem PMC finanziert werden.

Stärkung des nationalen Kampfes gegen Krebs

Der Umfang der Sammlung wird voraussichtlich auf alle Krebsarten ausgeweitet werden. Diese Initiative, die innerhalb von National Plan Cancer [Link zu plancancer.lu] organisiert wird, setzt auf eine gemeinsame Anstrengung zwischen aller an der Krebsforschung beteiligten Akteure in Luxemburg: Die Krankenhäuser, das “Laboratoire National de Santé” und die Biobank. In Zukunft wird jeder Krebspatient, der in Luxemburg Gesundheitsversorgung erhält, die Möglichkeit haben, an der Krebsforschung teilzunehmen und sie zu fördern, indem er eine Probe von Tumorgeweben spendet. Die Sammlung wird zweifellos ein großer Vorteil für den nationalen Kampf gegen Krebs darstellen.

Unsere nationalen Projekte

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit allen wichtigen Akteuren der biomedizinischen Forschung und des Gesundheitswesens in Luxemburg ist IBBL an einer Reihe nationaler Krebsforschungsprojekte beteiligt. Nachfolgend eine Auswahl unserer neuesten Projekte.

Projekt zu einer Probensammlung – Lungenkrebs (Lung Cancer Study - LCS)

Lungenkrebs ist jährlich für die meisten Todesfälle in Verbindung mit Krebs bei Männern und Frauen weltweit verantwortlich und die Überlebensrate nach 10 Jahren ab der Diagnose ist schlecht (< 15 %). Diese schlechte Prognose liegt vor allem daran, dass es keinen wirksamen Diagnosetest für diese Krankheit gibt. Das Hauptziel dieser Studie besteht darin, molekulare Biomarker für Lungenkrebs zu finden und zu validieren und einen molekular-basierten Diagnosetest zu entwickeln, der speziell auf Lungenkrebs ausgerichtet ist. Für die Studie werden Speichel, Urin, Blut und Gewebe von Patienten mit Lungenkrebs entnommen, wie auch ein Teil der malignen Flüssigkeit aus den Lungen. Von Patienten, die sich einer chirurgischen Entfernung ihres Tumors unterziehen, wird darüber hinaus auch ein Teil des Tumorgewebes sowie ein Stück des normalen Lungengewebes entnommen, das an den Tumor angrenzt.

Projekt zu einer Probensammlung – Darmkrebs (Suppressor Of Cytokine Signaling – SOCS)

Ziel ist die Entwicklung dieser Krankheit zu verstehen und demzufolge bessere Behandlun-gen und diagnostische Tests zu entwickeln. Ihre Proben werden in der Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL) zu Forschungszwecken aufbewahrt werden. Der Name der ersten Studie innerhalb dieses Projektes lautet: Entdeckung neuer the-rapeutischer Ziele bei Darmkrebs. Die Studie wird von der Fondation Cancer und der Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL) finanziert. Diese Kollaborationsstudie wird von der Universität Luxemburg und dem Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS) in zusammenarbeit mit der IBBL koordiniert.

Validierung des Biomarkers MYO5B (MyoRPROG)

Dies ist ein POC (Proof of Concept), bei dem IBBL Partner der Universität Luxemburg ist. IBBL führt die Validierung des Biomarkers MYO5B durch, einen prognostischen Biomarker für Darmkrebs, der von der Universität Luxemburg entdeckt wurde.

Luxemburgische Pilotstudie zur Erforschung des personalisierten funktionellen Profils (PFP) bei Patienten mit metastasierendem gastro-intestinalem Karzinom oder rezidivierendem Glioblastom (Pilot-PFP)

Diese Forschungsstudie erfolgt im Rahmen der Entwicklung der individualisierten Medizin für Krebsbehandlungen in Luxemburg. Ziel der “Pilot-PFP” Studie ist die Einrichtung einer Plattform in Luxemburg zu untersuchen, welche den behandelnden Ärzten eine Behandlungsempfehlung erteilen kann. Langfristig wird das Ziel dieser Plattform, sollte ihre Wirksamkeit in einer späteren Phase bewiesen werden, darin bestehen, die beste Behandlung für jeden Tumor zu bestimmen, in dem das funktionale Profil und das genetische Profil von ihrem Tumor aufgestellt wird. Die Studie „Pilot-PFP“ ist eine Initiative des Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH). An der Durchführung dieser Studie sind verschiedene Institutionen in Luxemburg beteiligt, die gemeinsam eine große Analyseplattform bilden: das Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS), IBBL, das Luxembourg Center for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) und das nationale Sequenzierungszentrum LuxGen. Diese Plattform hat zum Ziel: Untersuchung der Krebszellen von Patienten mit metastasierenden Krebs des Magen-Darm-Trakts oder rezidivierendem Glioblastom; Mehrere verfügbare Behandlungen zu vergleichen; und identifizierung der, für die jeweilige Art von Tumor, besten Behandlung. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine Pilotstudie, die den LIH-Forschern die Frage beantworten soll, ob die Einrichtung dieser Analyseplattform in Luxemburg durchführbar ist. Aus diesem Grund wird eine kleine Anzahl von Patienten in die Studie aufgenommen (20 Patienten an zwei Standorten in Luxemburg einzuschliessen – Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL) und Hôpital Robert Schuman (HRS)). 

Nationaler Krebsplan 2014–2018

2014 startete die Regierung Luxemburgs den ersten nationalen Krebsplan 2014–2018, um die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren zu fördern, die in Luxemburg gegen den Krebs kämpfen. Eine der vorgeschlagenen Maßnahmen bestand darin, eine nationale Probensammlung für die Forschung in der Onkologie und in mit der Onkologie verbundenen Bereichen zu etablieren, die auf einer engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Krankenhäusern, Ärzten, dem Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS) und der Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL) basiert. Diese Strategie ermöglicht eine einheitliche, zukunftsgerichtete Sammlung biologischer Ressourcen, die von der IBBL vorbereitet und aufbewahrt werden, und schafft neue Chancen für deren Verwendung in zukünftigen Studien. Eine solche Ressource bietet den entscheidenden Vorteil, größere Probensammlungen bereitzustellen, die für die Forschung genutzt werden können. Proben und klinische Daten von Patienten mit Verdacht auf oder diagnostiziertem Krebs werden für zukünftige Forschungszwecke im Bereich der Onkologie oder onkologieverwandten Feldern gesammelt, verarbeitet und aufbewahrt.

Nicht-invasiv aus Mikrobiom-gewonnene Multiomics-Biomarker für die Erkennung von kolorektalen Karzinomen im Frühstadium (MiCa)

Das Forschungsprojekt hat zum Ziel, die Änderungen in Verbindung mit kolorektalen Karzinomen (CRC) im Zusammenhang mit der Struktur und Funktion der Mikrobengemeinschaft innerhalb des menschlichen Gastrointestinaltrakts zu identifizieren. Das übergeordnete Ziel besteht darin, ein neues, nicht-invasives Modell für die Früherkennung von CRC basierend auf dem bestehenden Stuhlbluttest zu implementieren. Die IBBL ist für die Entnahme, Verarbeitung, den Transport, die Aliquotierung und die Aufbewahrung der Proben (Blut, Speichel, Urin) verantwortlich.

Molekulares Diagnostikprogramm für eine bessere Krebsbehandlung (MDLUX2)

Das Projekt zielt auf die Verbesserung des Gesundheitswesens in Luxemburg ab, insbesondere auf bessere Erfolge von Krebsbehandlungen durch die Bewertung des Werts und der Machbarkeit von molekularen Diagnosetests im Rahmen der Krebsversorgung in Luxemburg. Ein Satz standardisierter molekularer Diagnosetests wird für die Gewebeproben aller Patienten durchgeführt, die an MDLUX2 teilnehmen. Das Projekt wird gemeinsam finanziert vom Institut National du Cancer (INC), der Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL) sowie von Fondation Cancer und Fondatioun Kriibskrank Kanner. Darüber hinaus wird es auch vom Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS), von luxemburgischen Krankenhäusern und anderen Partnerunternehmen unterstützt. 

Rolle des miR-371-373-Clusters bei Tumorinitiation und metastatischer Besiedlung (MiRMet)

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, die Bildung von tumorinitiierenden Zellen (TICs) bei Darmkrebs und deren Beitrag zur Metastasierung zu verstehen. Insbesondere sollen die Mechanismen aufgezeigt werden, die dem Erwerb metastatischer Eigenschaften zugrunde liegen, mit dem Ziel, neuartige molekulare Ziele für die zukünftige Entwicklung von Therapeutika gegen CRC bereitzustellen. Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Universität Luxemburg und der IBBL.

Eine Multiomics-basierte Einzelzellstrategie, um die behandlungsbedingte Resistenz von Glioblastomen zu überwinden: Ein Einstiegspunkt für eine personalisierte Behandlung

Maligne Hirntumore sind eine äußerst heterogene Erkrankung mit einem sehr schlechten klinischen Ergebnis. Insbesondere das Glioblastoma multiforme (GBM) weist eine sehr große genetische Heterogenität auf. Auch bei einer aggressiven Behandlung, einschließlich chirurgischer Resektion, Bestrahlung und Chemotherapie, zeigen GBM-Patienten eine sehr schnelle Krankheitsprogression mit einer durchschnittlichen Lebenserwartung von nur 12–15 Monaten. Der aktuellen klinischen Diagnostik fehlt weiterhin eine angemessene Abbildung der Tumorheterogenität für optimierte und personalisierte Behandlungsstrategien. Das Projekt will Strategien für die zukünftige klinische Bestimmung der intratumoralen Heterogenität entwickeln. Wir wollen die GBM-Patientenproben der ursprünglichen und rezidivierenden Tumore auf Einzelzellebene analysieren, um genetische und transkriptomische Identitäten aufzuzeigen, die zur Krankheitsprogression und behandlungsbedingten Resistenz beitragen. Gleichzeitig werden wir sowohl aus den ursprünglichen als auch aus den rezidivierenden GBM-Proben der gleichen Patienten Xenotransplantate ableiten (Patient-Derived Xenograft, PDXs – Tumorgewebe, das von einem Patienten entnommen und für Forschungszwecke in Mäuse implantiert wird). Diese PDXs ermöglichen präklinische personalisierte Behandlungsansätze, um die therapeutische Resistenz in Verbindung mit der Heterogenität zu überwinden.

Auswirkungen einer Gewichtsabnahme während der Chemotherapie in Bezug auf die Freisetzung von Pestiziden und Einschätzung einer möglichen Interferenz mit den chemotherapeutischen Behandlungen (PEST-CHEM)

Toxische Substanzen, denen wir regelmäßig ausgesetzt sind, sammeln sich im Laufe der Zeit in unserem Organismus an. Forscher aus Luxemburg können feststellen, inwieweit wir solchen schädlichen Substanzen ausgesetzt sind, insbesondere durch die Analyse von Blut und Haar gesunder Personen. Während der chemotherapeutischen Behandlung von Patienten mit Krebserkrankungen des Verdauungstraktes wird häufig eine Gewichtsabnahme beobachtet. Diese kann eine Folge der vorangegangenen Operation oder der chemotherapeutischen Behandlung sein. Eine erhebliche Gewichtsabnahme kann zur Freisetzung von Resten toxischer Substanzen führen, die in unserem Fettgewebe gespeichert sind. Die Forscher möchten herausfinden, (i) ob eine mit der chirurgischen oder chemotherapeutischen Behandlung von Krebs einhergehende Gewichtsabnahme zur Freisetzung von toxischen Substanzen führt, denen die Patienten zuvor möglicherweise ausgesetzt waren, und (ii) ob diese Freisetzung sich nachträglich auf die chemotherapeutische Behandlung auswirken kann. Für die Studie werden Haar- und Blutproben sowie medizinische Daten gesammelt. 

Biomarker-Identifikation für das kolorektale Karzinom (BiCRC)

Dieses Projekt ist ein gemeinschaftliches Projekt zwischen CHL, IBBL, LNS und der Universität Luxemburg. Das Hauptziel dieses Projekts besteht darin, prädiktive oder prognostische Biomarker für Darm- oder Enddarmkrebs zu untersuchen. Die im Rahmen dieses Projekts untersuchten Biomarker haben sich entweder in einzelnen Studien als statistisch in der Lage erwiesen, das Ergebnis des Patienten zu prognostizieren oder wurden noch nicht für diesen Zweck untersucht. Die Studie wird alle diese Faktoren mit dem Dukes-Klassifikationssystem vergleichen, um zu sehen, ob sie das derzeitige Tool für die klinische Entscheidungsfindung ergänzen können.

Überlebensverlängerung durch rationale innovative Genomik (Survival Prolongation by Rationale Innovative Genomics, SPRING)

SPRING ist eine klinische Phase-I und II-Studie, um die Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit eines Tri-Therapie-Ansatzes bei fortgeschrittenem/metastasierendem nicht-kleinzelligem Lungenkarzinom (NSCLC) zu testen und die Fähigkeit von integrierter Genomik und Transkriptomik retrospektiv zu beurteilen, um Patienten dieser Kombination zuweisen zu können. Das ultimative Ziel besteht darin, die weitergehende Lungenkrebsbehandlung zu verbessern, den klinischen Nutzen zu erhöhen und das Überleben zu steigern. Die IBBL ist für die Bereitstellung von Gewebeentnahmekits und die Verarbeitung der entnommenen Gewebeproben verantwortlich. Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen CHL, dem klinischen und epidemiologischen Untersuchungszentrum (Clinical and Epidemiological Investigation Center) des Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH) und der IBBL.

Mitmachen!

Krebspatienten, welche gerne helfen würden die Forschung voranzutreiben, können ihren Onkologen fragen, ob es Forschungsprojekte gibt, an denen sie teilnehmen könnten. Die IBBL führt zurzeit mehrere Krebs-Foschungsprojekte in Zusammenarbeit mit Luxemburger Onkologen durch. Viele dieser Studien beziehen sich auf eine bestimmte Krebsart. Im nationalen Krebsplan ist vorgesehen, dass früher oder später Proben aller in Luxemburg operierten Tumore zu Forschungszwecken in der Biobank gelagert werden, wenn der Krebspatient hierfür seine Einwilligung gegeben hat.