Parkinson’s Disease

Worldwide, some 7-10 million people live with Parkinson’s disease (PD). In Luxembourg, it is estimated that about 1,200 people are affected by this chronic and progressive neurodegenerative disease.

icon-parkinson

The risk of developing a neurodegenerative disease, such as Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease, increases as we grow older, with up to 10% of PD patients already diagnosed before they turn 50. At the time of diagnosis, PD patients typically exhibit motor symptoms including muscle stiffness, shaking and slowness in initiating movement. PD takes years to develop and the damage to nerve cells is already extensive by the time these motor symptoms appear. However, up to 10-20 years before this, most patients will exhibit problems with their vision, constipation, sleep disorders, or a reduction in their sense of smell. These symptoms are today considered pre-motor risk factors for developing PD.

In order to treat patients as early and as efficiently as possible, it is imperative that accurate early diagnostic tests and better treatments be found. Understanding this urgency, the biobank participates in both, national and international, PD studies. At the same time, we work closely with the local patient association, Parkinson Luxembourg, to keep patients informed about PD research and show our solidarity.

International collaboration

PrintSince 2013, we have worked as the central European biobank for a project funded by the EU Joint Programme for Neurodegenerative Disease Research (JPND), the largest global research initiative aimed at tackling the challenge of neurodegenerative diseases. blood-collectThe cerebrospinal fluid and blood samples collected at multiple European hospitals are stored at IBBL and made available to scientists from 19 different countries. Besides taking care of the physical storage of biological samples for the project, we have set up a web-based IT platform that captures all data related to the samples and we have also participated in the research itself by assessing the way in which cerebrospinal fluid is processed in the laboratory.

In 2016, IBBL joined another JPND project as external collaborator. Researchers from Luxembourg, Germany, Austria, the Netherlands and Israel have been combining their strengths to culture human brain-like structures from Parkinson’s patient cells to elucidate the effects of the disease on the brain. Within the consortium, we are responsible for the reception of the samples, as well as for the expansion, storage and redistribution of the cells. In addition, our researchers help test a novel cryopreservation method for the brain structures.

Local excellence

The biggest initiative in PD research in Luxembourg was launched in 2015: the National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease (NCER-PD). Created by the Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR), NCER-PD is an 8-year programme that aims to find new ways for an earlier diagnosis and better treatment for Parkinson’s disease.

Over 600 patients and healthy donors from Luxembourg and the Greater Region participated in the study in 2018. This number reflects the strong interest and will of the Luxembourgish population to advance biomedical research. Their biological samples, such as blood, urine and saliva, were handled with the greatest care by the biobank, which also set up quality control tests to maximise donors’ contribution and ultimately ensure robust research outcomes.

Our national projects 

IBBL is involved in a number of national research projects on Parkinson’s disease and neurodegeneration, in close collaboration with all major biomedical research and healthcare actors in Luxembourg. Below a selection of some of our latest projects. 

Biomaterial collection for neurodegenerative disease research (ND collection)

To investigate the causes of neurodegenerative diseases, researchers need access to biomaterial and clinical data from patients and healthy controls to define disease markers and study mechanisms causing neuronal cell death. It takes substantial efforts to collect a large number of samples to be able to answer most urgent research questions. Here, anonymised participants’ clinical data and biosamples from this collection will help numerous research organisations in Luxembourg and abroad to advance the understanding and treatment of common neurodegenerative diseases, such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases, epilepsy and inflammatory brain diseases. The IBBL (Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg) and the LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems and Biomedicine) are co-sponsors of the Collection.

Advanced modelling of Parkinson’s disease with three-dimensional human midbrain organoids (3DPD)

The project aims to implement a novel 3D cell culture model to elucidate the effects of Parkinson’s disease on brain architecture and connectivity. The project is led by the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine at the University of Luxembourg.

Standardisation of midbrain organoid generation and proof of concept for application (BrainOid)

The BrainOid project is a collaboration between IBBL, LIH, the University of Luxembourg and the FNR. It aims to generate prototype midbrain organoids from human stem cells that are ready for distribution and various applications. The first step will be to standardise their production and then to provide a proof-of-concept for toxicity and neurodegeneration testing. The midbrain organoids will be generated from human neuroepithelial stem cells (hNESC) derived from pluripotent stem cells (iPSC) originating from skin biopsies. Method validation will be conducted by IBBL. 

Exploring Mitochondrial Epigenetics as a cause of mitochondrial dysfunction in Parkinson's disease (EME)

Mitochondrial dysfunction is a prevalent actor in the pathology of Parkinson’s disease (PD). However, the underlying molecular mechanism of this mitochondrial dysfunction is not comprehended. The project aims to investigate a potential dysregulation of the mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) epigenetics in platelets derived from PD patients. The project will assess the validity of mtDNA epigenetic profiles as a biomarker for early PD diagnosis and/or disease staging, as well as elucidate the causes of the detrimental mitochondrial defects in PD. This approach can help develop therapeutic strategies to prevent neuronal cell loss in PD. The study is a collaboration between the LCSB, the University of Luxembourg and IBBL.

Get Involved

Whether you have Parkinson’s disease or not, you can contribute to Parkinson’s research by participating in the National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease (NCER-PD), a collaboration between IBBL, the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), the Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH), the Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL) and the Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS).

For more information on the NCER-PD programme and your participation, please visit www.parkinson.lu

Parkinson

Weltweit leben ca. 7-10 Millionen Menschen mit Parkinson. In Luxemburg wird geschätzt, dass ungefähr 1.200 Personen von dieser chronischen, fortschreitenden neurodegenerativen Krankheit betroffen sind.

icon-parkinson

Das Risiko, eine neurodegenerative Krankheit wie Alzheimer oder Parkinson zu entwickeln, wächst, wenn wir älter werden, wobei bis zu 10 % der Parkinsonpatienten ihre Diagnose erhalten, bevor sie 50 Jahre alt sind. Zum Zeitpunkt der Diagnose haben Parkinsonpatienten typischerweise motorische Symptome wie Muskelsteife, Zittern und verlangsamte Bewegungen. Parkinson entwickelt sich über Jahre und der Schaden an Nervenzellen ist bereits groß, wenn diese motorischen Symptome auftauchen. Jedoch zeigen die meisten Patienten 10 – 20 Jahre vorher Probleme mit dem Sehvermögen oder dem Geruchssinns, leiden an Verstopfung oder Schlafstörungen.

Diese Symptome werden heute als prä-motorische Risikofaktoren für die Entwicklung von Parkinson angesehen. Um Patienten so früh und so effektiv wie möglich zu behandeln, müssen dringend präzise Früherkennungstests und bessere Behandlungen gefunden werden. Angesichts dieser zwingenden Notwendigkeit, nehmen wir sowohl an nationalen als auch internationalen Studien zu Parkinson teil. Gleichzeitig arbeiten wir eng mit der lokalen Patientenvereinigung Parkinson Luxembourg zusammen, um die Patienten über die Parkinson-Forschung auf dem Laufenden zu halten und unsere Solidarität zu bekunden.

Internationale Zusammenarbeit

PrintSeit 2013 arbeiten wir als die zentrale europäische Biobank für ein Projekt mit dem EU Joint Programme for Neurodegenerative Disease Research (JPND) zusammen, der größten globalen Forschungsinitiative mit dem Ziel, sich der Herausforderung neurodegenerativer Krankheiten zu stellen. blood-collectProben von Rückenmarksflüssigkeit und Blut, die in mehreren europäischen Krankenhäusern gesammelt wurden, werden bei uns gelagert und Wissenschaftlern aus 19 verschiedenen Ländern zur Verfügung gestellt. Neben der physischen Lagerung biologischer Proben für das Projekt, haben wir eine Internetplattform aufgebaut, die alle mit den Proben verbundenen Daten erfasst. Zu guter Letzt nehmen wir auch an der Forschung selbst teil, indem wir die Bearbeitung von Rückenmarksflüssigkeit im Labor untersuchen.

Im Jahre 2016 ist IBBL als externer Mitarbeiter zu einem weiteren JPND Projekt gestoßen. Forscher aus Luxemburg, Deutschland, Österreich, den Niederlanden und Israel haben ihre Stärken vereint, um menschliche Gehirn-artige Strukturen aus Zellen von Parkinson-Patienten zu züchten, um die Auswirkungen der Erkrankung auf das Gehirn zu untersuchen. Innerhalb des Konsortiums, ist IBBL für die Entgegennahme der Proben sowie für die Erweiterung, Speicherung und Umverteilung der Zellen verantwortlich. Darüber hinaus helfen unsere Forscher, eine neuartige Kryokonservierungsmethode für die im Konsortium entwickelten Gehirnstrukturen zu testen.

Lokale Exzellenz

Die größte Initiative in der Erforschung der Parkinson-Krankheit wurde im Jahre 2015 in Luxemburg gestartet: Das “National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease” [Nationale Excellence Zentrum für Forschung der Parkinson-Krankheit] (NCER-PD). NCER-PD, die vom “Fonds National de la Recherche” (FNR) ins Leben gerufen wurde, ist ein 8 Jahre laufendes Programm, das sich das Ziel gesetzt hat, neue Wege für die Frühdiagnose und bessere Behandlungen der Parkinson-Krankheit zu finden.

Etwas mehr als 600 Patienten und gesunde Spender aus Luxemburg und der Großregion nahmen 2018 an der Studie teil. Diese Zahl spiegelt das starke Interesse und den Willen der luxemburgischen Bevölkerung wider, die biomedizinische Forschung voranzutreiben. Ihre biologischen Proben wie Blut, Urin und Speichel wurden mit größter Sorgfalt von der Biobank behandelt, die auch Qualitätskontrolltests einrichtete, um die Beiträge der Spender zur maximieren und letztlich robuste Forschungsergebnisse zu liefern.

Unsere nationalen Projekte

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit allen wichtigen Akteuren der biomedizinischen Forschung und des Gesundheitswesens in Luxemburg ist das IBBL an einer Reihe nationaler Forschungsprojekte zu Parkinson und Neurodegeneration beteiligt. Nachfolgend eine Auswahl unserer neuesten Projekte.

Sammlung biologischer Proben für Forschungsprojekte über neurodegenerative Krankheiten (ND Sammlung)

Die Forschung ist sehr wichtig, um die Behandlung der Patienten zu verbessern; sie hilft die Krankheitsmechanismen besser zu verstehen und ermöglicht die Entwicklung neuer Tests und Behandlungen, die nicht nur die Symptome kontrollieren, sondern auch den weiteren Verlauf der Krankheit stoppen könnten. Um die Ursachen der Krankheit zu erforschen, benötigen die Wissenschaftler biologisches Material und klinische Daten von Patienten und gesunden Kontrollpersonen, um Krankheitsmarker zu definieren und die Mechanismen, die zum neuronalen Zelltod führen, zu studieren. Genügend Proben zu sammeln, um die vorrangigsten Forschungsfragen zu beantworten, ist äußerst aufwendig. Anonymisierte Proben und Daten dieser Sammlung werden von zahlreichen Forschungseinheiten in Luxemburg und im Ausland genutzt werden, um neurologische Krankheiten wie Alzheimer, Parkinson, Epilepsie und Entzündungserkrankungen des Gehirns besser verstehen und behandeln zu können. Sowohl die IBBL (Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg) in ihrer Funktion als Biobank, als auch das LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine), in seiner Funktion als Forschungsinstitut, unterstützen diese Sammlung finanziell.

Fortgeschrittene Modellierung der Parkinson-Krankheit mit dreidimensionalen menschlichen Mittelhirn-Organoiden (3DPD)

Das Projekt will ein neuartiges 3D-Zellkulturmodell implementieren, das die Auswirkungen der Parkinson-Krankheit auf die Gehirnarchitektur und -konnektivität verdeutlicht. Das Projekt wird vom Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine an der Universität Luxemburg geleitet.

Standardisierung der Mittelhirn-Organoid-Entstehung und Proof of Concept für die Anwendung (BrainOid)

Das BrainOid-Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen der IBBL, dem LIH, der Universität Luxemburg und dem Nationalen Forschungsfond für Luxemburg (Fonds National de la Recherche – FNR). Es zielt darauf ab, Prototypen der Mittelhirn-Organoiden aus humanen Stammzellen zu generieren, die für die Verteilung sowie für verschiedene Anwendungen bereit stehen. Der erste Schritt besteht in der Standardisierung der Produktion, um dann einen Proof of Concept für die Toxizität und Neurodegeneration bereitzustellen. Die Mittelhirn-Organoide werden aus humanen neuroepithelialen Stammzellen (hNESC) gewonnen, die aus pluripotenten Stammzellen (iPSC) abgeleitet werden, die wiederum aus Hautbiopsien resultieren. Die Methodenvalidierung wird von der IBBL durchgeführt. 

Untersuchung der mitochondrialen Epigenetik als Ursache der mitochondrialen Dysfunktion bei der Parkinson-Krankheit (EME)

Die mitochondriale Dysfunktion ist ein vorherrschender Faktor bei der Pathologie der Parkinson-Krankheit (PD). Der zugrundeliegende molekulare Mechanismus dieser mitochondrialen Dysfunktion wird jedoch noch nicht verstanden. Das Projekt will eine potenzielle Fehlregulation der mitochondrialen DNA (mtDNA)-Epigenetik in Thrombozyten untersuchen, die von PD-Patienten stammen. Das Projekt beurteilt die Tauglichkeit von mtDNA-epigenetischen Profilen als Biomarker für die frühe PD-Diagnose und/oder die Krankheitsklassifikation sowie für die Aufklärung der Ursachen der schädlichen mitochondrialen Defekte bei PD. Dieser Ansatz kann dazu beitragen, therapeutische Strategien zu entwickeln, um dem Verlust von Nervenzellen bei der PD entgegenzuwirken. Die Studie ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), der Universität Luxemburg und der IBBL.

Mitmachen!

Ob Sie an Parkison erkrankt sind oder nicht, Sie können die Parkinson-Foschung durch eine Teilnahme an der luxemburger Parkinsonstudie National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease (NCER-PD) unterstützen. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen der IBBL, dem Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), dem Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH), dem Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL) und dem Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS).

Weitere Information zu NCER-PD und der Teilnahme, finden Sie unter www.parkinson.lu