Parkinson’s Disease

Worldwide, some 7-10 million people live with Parkinson’s disease (PD). In Luxembourg, it is estimated that about 1,200 people are affected by this chronic and progressive neurodegenerative disease.

icon-parkinson

The risk of developing a neurodegenerative disease, such as Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease, increases as we grow older, with up to 10% of PD patients already diagnosed before they turn 50. At the time of diagnosis, PD patients typically exhibit motor symptoms including muscle stiffness, shaking and slowness in initiating movement. PD takes years to develop and the damage to nerve cells is already extensive by the time these motor symptoms appear. However, up to 10-20 years before this, most patients will exhibit problems with their vision, constipation, sleep disorders, or a reduction in their sense of smell. These symptoms are today considered pre-motor risk factors for developing PD.

In order to treat patients as early and as efficiently as possible, it is imperative that accurate early diagnostic tests and better treatments be found. Understanding this urgency, the biobank participates in both, national and international, PD studies. At the same time, we work closely with the local patient association, Parkinson Luxembourg, to keep patients informed about PD research and show our solidarity.

International collaboration

PrintSince 2013, we have worked as the central European biobank for a project funded by the EU Joint Programme for Neurodegenerative Disease Research (JPND), the largest global research initiative aimed at tackling the challenge of neurodegenerative diseases. blood-collectThe cerebrospinal fluid and blood samples collected at multiple European hospitals are stored at IBBL and made available to scientists from 19 different countries. Besides taking care of the physical storage of biological samples for the project, we have set up a web-based IT platform that captures all data related to the samples and we have also participated in the research itself by assessing the way in which cerebrospinal fluid is processed in the laboratory.

In 2016, IBBL joined another JPND project as external collaborator. Researchers from Luxembourg, Germany, Austria, the Netherlands and Israel have been combining their strengths to culture human brain-like structures from Parkinson’s patient cells to elucidate the effects of the disease on the brain. Within the consortium, we are responsible for the reception of the samples, as well as for the expansion, storage and redistribution of the cells. In addition, our researchers help test a novel cryopreservation method for the brain structures.

Local excellence

The biggest initiative in PD research in Luxembourg was launched in 2015: the National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease (NCER-PD). Created by the Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR), NCER-PD is an 8-year programme that aims to find new ways for an earlier diagnosis and better treatment for Parkinson’s disease.

Over 600 patients and healthy donors from Luxembourg and the Greater Region participated in the study in 2018. This number reflects the strong interest and will of the Luxembourgish population to advance biomedical research. Their biological samples, such as blood, urine and saliva, were handled with the greatest care by the biobank, which also set up quality control tests to maximise donors’ contribution and ultimately ensure robust research outcomes.

Our national projects 

IBBL is involved in a number of national research projects on Parkinson’s disease and neurodegeneration, in close collaboration with all major biomedical research and healthcare actors in Luxembourg. Below a selection of some of our latest projects. 

Biomaterial collection for neurodegenerative disease research (ND collection)

To investigate the causes of neurodegenerative diseases, researchers need access to biomaterial and clinical data from patients and healthy controls to define disease markers and study mechanisms causing neuronal cell death. It takes substantial efforts to collect a large number of samples to be able to answer most urgent research questions. Here, anonymised participants’ clinical data and biosamples from this collection will help numerous research organisations in Luxembourg and abroad to advance the understanding and treatment of common neurodegenerative diseases, such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases, epilepsy and inflammatory brain diseases. The IBBL (Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg) and the LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems and Biomedicine) are co-sponsors of the Collection.

Advanced modelling of Parkinson’s disease with three-dimensional human midbrain organoids (3DPD)

The project aims to implement a novel 3D cell culture model to elucidate the effects of Parkinson’s disease on brain architecture and connectivity. The project is led by the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine at the University of Luxembourg.

Standardisation of midbrain organoid generation and proof of concept for application (BrainOid)

The BrainOid project is a collaboration between IBBL, LIH, the University of Luxembourg and the FNR. It aims to generate prototype midbrain organoids from human stem cells that are ready for distribution and various applications. The first step will be to standardise their production and then to provide a proof-of-concept for toxicity and neurodegeneration testing. The midbrain organoids will be generated from human neuroepithelial stem cells (hNESC) derived from pluripotent stem cells (iPSC) originating from skin biopsies. Method validation will be conducted by IBBL. 

Exploring Mitochondrial Epigenetics as a cause of mitochondrial dysfunction in Parkinson's disease (EME)

Mitochondrial dysfunction is a prevalent actor in the pathology of Parkinson’s disease (PD). However, the underlying molecular mechanism of this mitochondrial dysfunction is not comprehended. The project aims to investigate a potential dysregulation of the mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) epigenetics in platelets derived from PD patients. The project will assess the validity of mtDNA epigenetic profiles as a biomarker for early PD diagnosis and/or disease staging, as well as elucidate the causes of the detrimental mitochondrial defects in PD. This approach can help develop therapeutic strategies to prevent neuronal cell loss in PD. The study is a collaboration between the LCSB, the University of Luxembourg and IBBL.

Get Involved

Whether you have Parkinson’s disease or not, you can contribute to Parkinson’s research by participating in the National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease (NCER-PD), a collaboration between IBBL, the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), the Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH), the Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL) and the Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS).

For more information on the NCER-PD programme and your participation, please visit www.parkinson.lu

La maladie de Parkinson

À l’échelle mondiale, environ 7 à 10 millions de personnes souffrent de la maladie de Parkinson. On estime qu’au Luxembourg près de 1 200 personnes sont touchées par cette maladie neurodégénérative chronique et progressive.

icon-parkinson

Le risque de contracter une maladie neurodégénérative, telle qu’Alzheimer ou Parkinson, augmente avec l’âge : plus de 10 % des patients atteints de la maladie de Parkinson sont diagnostiqués avant l’âge de 50 ans. Au moment du diagnostic, les patients parkinsoniens manifestent habituellement des symptômes moteurs comme la rigidité musculaire, des tremblements ou un ralentissement des mouvements. La maladie de Parkinson met des années à se développer et lorsque les symptômes moteurs apparaissent, les dégâts dans les cellules nerveuses sont déjà considérables. Cependant, jusqu’à 10 ou 20 ans avant cela, la plupart des patients souffriront de problèmes de vision, de constipation, de troubles du sommeil ou d’une perte de l’odorat. On considère aujourd’hui ces symptômes comme des facteurs de risques prémoteurs de la maladie.

En vue de traiter les patients le plus rapidement et le plus efficacement possible, il est impératif de découvrir des tests diagnostiques précoces et efficaces et de meilleurs traitements. La biobanque, ayant compris l’urgence, participe à la fois aux études nationales et internationales sur la maladie de Parkinson. En même temps, nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec Parkinson Luxembourg, l’association locale des patients, pour les informer de la recherche sur la maladie et leur prouver notre solidarité.

Collaboration internationale

PrintDepuis 2013, nous travaillons comme la biobanque centrale européenne d’un projet fondé par le Programme commun de l’Union européenne sur les maladies neurodégénératives (Joint Programme for Neurodegenerative Disease Research – JPND). Il s’agit là de la plus grande initiative de recherche mondiale axée sur les maladies neurodégénératives. Les échantillons de sang et de liquide céphalo-rachidien, recueillis dans plusieurs hôpitaux européens, sont stockés à IBBL et mis à la disposition des scientifiques de 19 pays différents. En plus de la gestion physique des échantillons biologiques pour le projet, nous avons mis en place une plateforme informatique qui collecte toutes les données relatives aux échantillons, et nous avons également participé à la recherche en tant que telle en évaluant la manière dont le liquide céphalo-rachidien est traité en laboratoire.

En 2016, IBBL a rejoint un autre projet JPND en tant que collaborateur externe. Des chercheurs du Luxembourg, d’Allemagne, d’Autriche, des Pays-Bas et d’Israël ont unis leurs forces pour créer des mini structures semblables au cerveau humain à partir de cellules prélevées sur des patients parkinsoniens, dans le but de déterminer les effets de la maladie sur le cerveau. Au sein de ce consortium, IBBL se charge de la réception des échantillons, ainsi que de la multiplication, conservation et redistribution des cellules. De plus, nos chercheurs aident à tester une nouvelle méthode de cryoconservation de ces mini structures.

L’excellence locale

La plus grande initiative dans ce domaine jamais lancée au Luxembourg a vu le jour en 2015. Mise en place par le Fonds National de la Recherche (FNR), le National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease (NCER-PD) est un programme d’une durée de 8 ans dont l’objetif est de trouver des techniques de diagnostic précoce et de meilleurs traitements contre cette maladie.

Plus de 600 patients et donneurs en bonne santé résidant au Luxembourg et dans la Grande Région ont participé à l’étude en 2018. Ce taux de participation reflète l’intérêt et la volonté de la population à faire progresser la recherche médicale. Leurs échantillons biologiques (sang, urine, salive) sont manipulés avec le plus grand soin par la biobanque. Nous avons également développé des tests de contrôlé qualité afin de maximaliser la contribution des donneurs et de garantir l’obtention de résultats robustes en laboratoire.

Nos projets nationaux

IBBL est impliquée dans de nombreux projets nationaux sur le Parkinson et sur d’autres maladies neurodégénératives, en étroite collaboration avec tous les acteurs majeurs de la recherche biomédicale et de la santé au Luxembourg. Ci-dessous une sélection de nos derniers projets.   

Collection de matériel biologique dans le cadre de la recherche sur les maladies neurodégénératives (ND collection)

La recherche est très importante pour améliorer la prise en charge médicale des patients car elle permet à la fois de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de la maladie et de développer de nouveaux tests diagnostiques et de nouveaux traitements. Ces nouvelles découvertes contribuent non seulement à limiter les symptômes mais également à enrayer la progression de la maladie. Les chercheurs doivent donc avoir accès à des échantillons biologiques, associés à des données cliniques, de patients et de personnes saines afin d’étudier les biomarqueurs spécifiques de la maladie et les mécanismes provoquant la mort des cellules neuronales. Collecter suffisamment d’échantillons pour répondre rapidement à une hypothèse de recherche nécessite des efforts considérables. Dès lors, les échantillons et données anonymisés des participants recueillis lors de cette collection aideront de nombreuses équipes de recherche luxembourgeoises, mais aussi internationales, afin de faire progresser la compréhension et les traitements des maladies neurodégénératives, telles que la maladie d’Alzheimer, la maladie de Parkinson, l’épilepsie et les maladies cérébrales inflammatoires. L’IBBL (Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg) en tant que biobanque et le LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems and Biomedicine) en tant que centre de recherche sont co-sponsors de cette collection.

Modélisation avancée de la maladie de Parkinson avec des organoïdes humains tridimensionnels du cerveau moyen (3DPD)

Le projet vise à mettre en place un nouveau modèle de culture cellulaire en 3D pour élucider les effets de la maladie de Parkinson sur l’architecture et la connectivité du cerveau. Le projet est dirigé par le Luxembourg Center for Systems Biomedicine de l’Université du Luxembourg.

Standardisation de la génération des organoïdes du cerveau moyen et preuve de concept pour application (BrainOid)

Le projet BrainOid est un projet de collaboration entre IBBL, LIH, l’Université du Luxembourg et le FNR. Son objectif est de générer des prototypes d’organoïdes cérébraux à partir de cellules souches humaines, prêts à la distribution et à diverses applications. La première étape consistera à normaliser leur production, puis à fournir une preuve de concept pour les tests de toxicité et de neurodégénérescence. Les organoïdes du cerveau moyen seront générés à partir de cellules souches neuroépithéliales humaines (hNESC) dérivées de cellules souches pluripotentes (iPSC) issues de biopsies cutanées. La validation des méthodes sera effectuée par IBBL.

L'épigénétique mitochondriale en tant que cause de dysfonctionnement mitochondrial dans la maladie de Parkinson (EME)

Le dysfonctionnement mitochondrial est un acteur principal dans la maladie de Parkinson. Cependant, le mécanisme moléculaire sous-jacent à ce dysfonctionnement mitochondrial n’est pas compris. Le projet vise à étudier une possible dérégulation de l’épigénétique de l’ADN mitochondrial (ADNmt) dans les plaquettes dérivées de patients atteints de la maladie de Parkinson. Le projet évaluera la validité des profils épigénétiques de l’ADNmt en tant que biomarqueur pour le diagnostic précoce de la maladie de Parkinson et / ou la stadification de la maladie, ainsi que pour élucider les causes des dysfonctionnements mitochondriaux liés à la maladie de Parkinson. Cette approche peut aider à développer des stratégies thérapeutiques pour prévenir la perte de cellules neuronales. L’étude est une collaboration entre le LCSB, l’Université du Luxembourg et IBBL.

Participez !

Que vous soyez atteints de la maladie de Parkinson ou non, vous pouvez contribuer à la recherche dans ce domaine en participant à l’étude National Centre of Excellence in Research on Parkinson’s Disease (NCER-PD), une collaboration entre IBBL, le Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), le Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH), le Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL) et le Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS). 

Pour en savoir plus sur l’étude NCER-PD ou participer, rendez-vous sur le site www.parkinson.lu