Microbiome

Twenty years ago, bacteria were seen as the public enemy number one of human health. Today, we know that many of them are actually beneficial and may even be required to keep us healthy.

This new understanding of the relationship between the human body and the microorganisms living on or in it was brought about by research into the human microbiome. The term microbiome describes all the microorganisms living in a given environment, for example the human gut. Given that the number of microbial cells is far larger than the number of human cells in a body, it is not surprising that the former actually play an important role in human health. Over the past years links between the microbiome in the gut and diseases such as irritable bowel syndrome, Crohn’s disease, obesity and even Parkinson’s disease have been established.

Linking bacteria to obesity & diabetes

Even though the field of human microbiome research has made major progress, we still do not fully understand how and why these microorganisms cause, or maybe prevent, disease. However, it seems that the composition of the whole microbial environment and the balance between different species can make the difference between health and sickness. This is especially true for the gut, where, the higher your bacterial diversity, the healthier you will be, at least when it comes to your waistline. In 2016, a study carried out by the LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine), the CHL (Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg), the CHEM (Centre Hospitalier Emile Mayrisch) and IBBL untangled the links between gut microbiome and type 1 diabetes. Researchers showed clear differences in the way bacteria function between healthy and diabetic individuals. This study is a prime example of the great promise that research into the human microbiome holds, because in many cases it can be easily modified by diet, probiotics or fecal transplants. However, before any of these interventions make their way into the clinic it is important to further elucidate the complex network of interactions between the bacterial communities and human cells.

Microbiome research in Luxembourg

For several years now, Luxembourg-based researchers have been very active in the field of microbiome research. In 2016, the Luxembourg Society for Microbiology was founded by IBBL, the BioHealth Cluster, the LIST (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), the LNS (Laboratoire National de Santé), the LIH (Luxembourg Institute of Health) and the LCSB in order to consolidate all the activities in the field of microbiology on the national level. The overall ambition of the society is to provide a forum for interaction and exchange of knowledge and expertise in microbiology. The “First Luxembourg Microbiology Day” held one year later was a great success and the occasion for its members to come together and foster new synergies.

Becoming microbiome experts

In addition to collecting biological samples for studies, we support microbiome research by evaluating diffrerent ways to process microbiome samples. For example, our scientists recently tested six different stool collection tubes and three different methods to extract DNA from stool samples, to determine which one is optimal. In 2016, IBBL became the first biobank worldwide to be accredited for the next-generation 16S rRNA gene sequencing, an in-house developed method that allows scientists to obtain the complete bacterial profile of a given sample.

Being committed to the microbiome as a priority research domain, we also co-organised the 5th International Human Microbiome Congress (IHMC) from the 31st March to the 2nd April 2015 in Luxembourg. Under the title “Future Directions for Human Microbiome Research in Health and Disease”, the congress welcomed 50 renowned microbiome expert speakers and over 600 participants, from all corners of the world. For three days, the scientists discussed new research methods, potential therapies, and the latest findings on the role of the microbiome in human disease.

Mikrobiom

Vor zwanzig Jahren hat man Bakterien als den Hauptfeind der menschlichen Gesundheit angesehen. Heute wissen wir, dass viele von ihnen tatsächlich nützlich und sogar erforderlich sind, damit wir gesund bleiben.

Dieses neue Verständnis des Zusammenspiels zwischen dem menschlichen Körper und den Mikroorganismen, die auf oder in ihm leben, wurde durch die Forschung über das menschliche Mikrobiom möglich. Der Ausdruck Mikrobiom beschreibt alle Mikroorganismen, die in einer bestimmten Umgebung leben, zum Beispiel im menschlichen Darm. Da die Anzahl der mikrobischen Zellen viel größer ist als die Anzahl der menschlichen Zellen in einem Körper, überrascht es nicht, dass die Mikroben tatsächlich eine wichtige Rolle bei der menschlichen Gesundheit spielen. In den letzten Jahren wurden Verbindungen zwischen dem Mikrobiom im Darm und Krankheiten wie Reizdarmsyndrom, Morbus Crohn, Fettleibigkeit und sogar Parkinson hergestellt.

Die Verbindung zwischen Bakterien, Fettleibigkeit und Diabetes

Auch wenn die Forschung im Bereich des menschlichen Mikrobioms große Fortschritte gemacht hat, ist dennoch nicht genau gewusst wie und wieso bestimmte Mikroorganismen Krankheiten auslösen können. Es scheint allerdings, dass die Zusammensetzung der Mikroflora und das Gleichgewicht zwischen verschiedenen bakteriellen Spezies den Unterschied zwischen Gesundheit und Krankheit ausmachen können. Dies betrifft besonders das Mikrobiom. Hier gilt: je vielfältiger die Bakterien, desto gesünder ist man, jedenfalls was das Gewicht betrifft. Im Jahr 2016 entwirrte eine durch das LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine), das CHL (Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg), das CHEM (Centre Hospitalier Emile Mayrisch) und IBBL durchgeführte Studie die Verbindungen zwischen Darmmikrobiom und Typ 1 Diabetes. Forscher zeigten deutliche Unterschiede in der Funktionsweise der Bakterien zwischen gesunden und diabetischen Personen. Diese Studie ist eine ausgezeichnetes Beispiel dafür, wie vielversprechend die Forschung um das Mikrobiom ist. Insbesondere weil die Darmflora relativ einfach durch Diät, Probiotika, Fäkal-Transplantationen verbessert werden kann. Allerdings, bevor diese Maβnahmen zur klinischen Anwendung gelangen, ist es wichtig das komplizierte Zusammenspiel zwischen bakteriellen und menschlichen Zellen noch weiter zu durchleuchten.

Im Jahr 2016 wurde von IBBL, dem BioHealth Cluster, dem LIST (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), dem LNS (Laboratoire National de Santé), dem LIH (Luxembourg Institute of Health) und LCSB die Luxemburger Gesellschaft für Mikrobiologie gegründet mit dem Ziel, alle Aktivitäten auf dem Gebiet der Mikrobiologie auf nationaler Ebene zu konsolidieren. Das Gesamtziel der Gesellschaft ist, ein Forum für Interaktion und Austausch von Wissen und Fachwissen in der Mikrobiologie zu schaffen. Der ein Jahr später gehaltene “First Luxembourg Microbiology Day” [Erster Luxemburger Mokrobiologietag] war ein großer Erfolg und die Gelegenheit für seine Mitglieder, zusammen zu kommen und neue Synergien zu fördern.

Experten für das Mikrobiom werden

Zusätzlich zur Sammlung biologischer Proben für diese Studien, unterstützen wir die Mikrobiom-Forschung, indem wir verschiedene Bearbeitungsmethoden von Mikrobiom-Proben bewerten. Zum Beispiel testeten unsere Wissenschaftler kürzlich sechs verschiedene Röhrchen für die Sammlung von Stuhlproben und drei verschiedene Methoden, um DNA aus Stuhlproben zu extrahieren, um zu bestimmen, welche die Besten sind. Im Jahr 2016 wurde IBBL die erste Biobank weltweit, die für die nächste Generation der 16S rRNA Gen-Sequenzierung akkreditiert wurde, eine eigens entwickelte Methode, die es Wissenschaftlern ermöglicht, das vollständige Bakterienprofil einer bestimmten Probe zu erhalten.

Da die Mikrobiom-Forschung für uns ein prioritäres Forschungsgebiet ist, organisierten wir auch den fünften International Human Microbiome Congress (IHMC) mit, der vom 31. März bis zum 2. April 2015 in Luxemburg stattfindet. Unter dem Thema „Zukunftsperspektiven für die Forschung über das menschliche Mikrobiom in Gesundheit und Krankheit” haben 50 anerkannte Mikrobiom-Experten vor  600 Kongress-Teilnehmer aus aller Welt referiert. Die Wissenschaftler diskutierten drei Tage lang über neue Forschungsmethoden, mögliche Therapien und die letzten Erkenntnisse über die Rolle des Mikrobioms bei Krankheiten.