Diabetes

The prevalence of diabetes mellitus has been increasing exponentially over the last decade, and the disease is rapidly becoming a global problem. Current estimates suggest that 4.5% of Luxembourg’s population between 20 and 79 years of age have diabetes.

icone-diabetes1 in12 adults in the worlds having diabetes

Sadly, this number is projected to further increase. Indeed, international diabetes experts predict that, in the absence of radical change, 592 million people will live with diabetes by 2035. This constitutes 10% of the global population. Diabetes represents a daily burden on the patients who have to scrupulously watch their diets, monitor their blood sugar levels and administer insulin injections. The disease can also lead to serious complications affecting the eyes, heart, kidneys and feet and is estimated to cause 11% of deaths in Europe. In addition, the increasing number of patients means that diabetes is becoming a growing burden on healthcare systems. In fact, in Germany, about 10% of all healthcare costs are spent on diabetes treatment and care.

Discovering the underlying causes

There are three different forms of diabetes:

  1. type I diabetes, which is due to the pancreas’s failure to produce insulin;
  2. type II diabetes, where the patient’s cells have stopped responding properly to insulin;
  3. diabetes in pregnant women, called gestational diabetes.

While it is clear that both genetic predisposition and environmental factors play important roles in the development of diabetes, many of the exact mechanisms underlying its development are still unknown. To improve the understanding of diabetes and identify new therapeutic and diagnostic approaches, we currently support several diabetes projects.

Studying the role of bacteria

In 2016 one of the first projects initiated by the Personalised Medicine Consortium achieved a major breakthrough in diabetes research. 60 donors were recruited for this study, including families with a history of type 1 diabetes, with the help of Dr de Beaufort (CHL/LCSB) and the Clinical and Epidemiological Investigation Center at the LIH. By analysing the stool samples collected and processed by the biobank, researchers from the LCSB discovered clear differences in the way bacteria function in the gut of people with and without diabetes.

A second long-term project is ongoing. By documenting the development and evolution of bacteria from birth, scientists try to figure out how the bacterial populations in babies might influence the onset of diabetes later in life. For this study, stool samples of healthy new-borns and new-borns that are at increased risk of developing diabetes as adults due to known risk factors such as low birth weight will be collected and processed by the biobank before reaching researchers’ laboratories.

Identifying new therapeutic targets

For another collaboration with the Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg in Germany and the LCSB, we collect, process and store fat tissue and purified white blood cell samples from patients that display multiple risk factors for developing heart disease, stroke or diabetes. This study aims to determine how a lifestyle-mediated weight loss programme can affect a specific type of molecules inside cells, called microRNAs, in an effort to identify new therapeutic targets.

Get Involved

Currently, our diabetes studies are not actively recruiting participants. If you wish to stay informed about the recruitment for our upcoming diabetes studies, simply sign up to our newsletter.

Diabetes

Die Verbreitung von Diabetes hat über die letzten 10 Jahre exponentiell zugenommen und die Krankheit wird schnell zu einem globalen Problem. Derzeitigen Schätzungen zufolge leiden 4.5 % der Bevölkerung Luxemburgs im Alter von 20 bis 79 Jahren an Diabetes.

icone-diabetesWeltweit hat einer von 12 Erwachsenen Diabetes

Leider wird diese Zahl wohl noch weiter steigen. In der Tat sagen internationale Diabetes-Experten vorher, dass, ohne eine radikale Änderung, in 20 Jahren 592 Millionen Menschen mit Diabetes leben werden. Dies entspricht 10 % der globalen Bevölkerung. Diabetes stellt eine tägliche Last für die Patienten dar, die ihre Diät gewissenhaft beachten, ihren Blutzuckerspiegel überwachen und sich Insulin spritzen müssen. Die Krankheit kann auch zu ernsten Komplikationen an den Augen, dem Herz, den Nieren und den Füßen führen und ist für schätzungsweises 11 % der Todesfälle in Europa verantwortlich. Außerdem bedeutet die ansteigende Anzahl von Patienten, dass Diabetes eine zunehmende Last für die Gesundheitssysteme wird. In Deutschland werden beispielsweise ungefähr 10 % aller Kosten des Gesundheitswesens für die Behandlung und Pflege von Diabetes-Patienten ausgegeben.

Ursachenforschung

Es gibt drei verschiedene Formen von Diabetes:

  1. Diabetes Typ I, wobei die Bauchspeicheldrüse kein Insulin produziert;
  2. Diabetes Typ II, wobei die Zellen des Patienten nicht mehr richtig auf Insulin reagieren;
  3. Schwangerschaftsdiabetes.

Während gewusst ist, dass sowohl genetische Prädispositionen als auch Umweltfaktoren wichtige Rollen bei der Entwicklung von Diabetes spielen, sind viele der exakten Mechanismen, die der Entwicklung von Diabetes zu Grunde liegen, immer noch unbekannt. Um das Wissen über Diabetes zu verbessern und neue therapeutische und diagnostische Mittel zu finden, unterstützen wir derzeit mehrere Diabetes-Projekte.

Untersuchung der Rolle von Bakterien

Im Jahr 2016 erzielte eines der ersten von der PMC initiierten Projekte einen bedeutenden Durchbruch in der Diabetesforschung. Für diese Studie wurden 60 Spender, mit einer Familiengeschichte von Typ 1 Diabetes, mit Hilfe von Dr. de Beaufort (CHL / LCSB) und dem “Clinical and Epidemiological Investigation Center” [Klinische und Epidemiologisches Untersuchungszentrum] am LIH rekrutiert. Durch die Analyse der von der Biobank gesammelten und verarbeiteten Stuhlproben entdeckten Forscher aus dem LCSB deutliche Unterschiede in der Bakterienfunktion im Darm von Menschen mit und ohne Diabetes.

Eine zweite Langzeitprojekt ist im Gange. Durch die Dokumentation der Entwicklung und Evolution von Bakterien von der Geburt an versuchen Wissenschaftler, herauszufinden, wie die bakteriellen Populationen in Babys den Beginn des Diabetes später im Leben beeinflussen könnte. Für diese Studie werden Stuhlproben von gesunden Neugeborenen und Neugeborenen, die aufgrund bekannter Risikofaktoren wie niedriges Geburtsgewicht ein erhöhtes Risiko für die Entwicklung von Diabetes als Erwachsene aufweisen, von der Biobank gesammelt und verarbeitet, bevor sie die Labors der Forscher erreichen.

Identifikation von neuen therapeutischen Zielen

Für eine anderes Projekt mit der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität in Magdeburg (Deutschland) und dem LCSB sammeln, bearbeiten und lagern wir Fettgewebe und weiße Blutkörpercher von Patienten, die multiple Risikofaktoren für Herzkrankheiten, Schlaganfall oder Diabetes aufweisen. Diese Studie soll zeigen welchen Einfluss Gewichtsverlust durch Veränderung des Lebensstils auf eine bestimmte Art von Molekülen in den Zellen, sogenannte MicroRNAs, hat, um somit neue therapeutische Ziele zu ermitteln.

Mitmachen!

Derzeit rekrutieren wir keine Teilnehmer für unsere Diabetesprojekte. Wenn Sie über die Teilnahme an zukünftigen Diabetesprojekten informiert werden wollen, abonnieren Sie einfach unseren Newsletter.