Our Research Programmes

We believe a personalised approach to medicine is the key to improving health outcomes for patients. The idea behind this Personalised Medicine is that healthcare can be customised to fit the unique characteristics of each person’s disease.

Based on each individual’s genetic and molecular make up, personalised medicine recognises individual differences in the causes and progression of diseases. This approach can lead to earlier, more effective diagnosis and treatment, improved prevention strategies and improved monitoring of side-effects, which ultimately benefits the individual patient as well as the healthcare system overall.

As a biobank, we promote personalised medicine by working closely with clinicians and providing researchers with the biological samples, data and technologies they need. In Luxembourg, the organisations that are committed to personalising healthcare work together under the umbrella of the Personalised Medicine Consortium (PMC). As an initiative to foster collaborative research, the PMC regroups IBBL, the Luxembourg Institute of Health  (LIH) and the Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS), as well as the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) and the Life Sciences Research Unit (LSRU) of the University of Luxembourg.

Together with these partners and the Luxembourg government we have decided to make certain diseases and research areas a priority. Discover our research programmes:

Unsere Forschungsprogramme

Wir glauben, dass ein personalisierter Ansatz zur Medizin der Schlüssel ist, um die Gesundheitsversorgung, zum Wohle der Patienten, zu verbessern. Die Idee hinter dieser personalisierten Medizin ist, die Gesundheitsversorgung auf die einzigartigen Eigenschaften der Krankheit jeder Person zuzuschneiden.

Durch das genetische und molekulare Profil jedes Einzelnen erkennt die personalisierte Medizin individuelle Unterschiede welche die Ursachen und den Verlauf von Krankheiten beieinflussen. Dieser Ansatz kann zu früherer und effektiverer Diagnose und Behandlung, verbesserten Vorbeugungsstrategien und verbesserter Überwachung von Nebenwirkungen führen, was schließlich dem einzelnen Patienten und auch dem allgemeinen Gesundheitssystem zugute kommt.

Als Biobank fördern wir die personalisierte Medizin, indem wir eng mit Ärzten zusammenarbeiten und Forschern die biologischen Proben, Daten und Technologien zur Verfügung stellen, die sie benötigen. In Luxemburg arbeiten die Organisationen, die sich der personalisierten Gesundheitsversorgung verschrieben haben, unter dem Dach des Personalised Medicine Consortium (PMC) zusammen. Als Initiative zur Förderung der Zusammenarbeit vereinigt das PMC die größten Krankenhäuser in Luxemburg, die IBBL, das Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH) und das Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) an der Universität Luxemburg.

Zusammen mit diesen Partnern und der Regierung Luxemburgs haben wir entschieden, uns auf einige Krankheiten und Forschungsgebiete zu konzentrieren.