About IBBL

The IBBL (Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg) Institute is a biobank dedicated to supporting biomedical research for the benefit of patients.

Our story begins in 2008, when the Luxembourg government launched the “Health Sciences and Technologies Action Plan”, a commitment to the creation of a center of excellence in biomedical research and development in Luxembourg. Supported by the Ministry of Research, the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Economy, we opened our doors two years later, next to the Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg.

Over the years, IBBL has progressively grown into an established player in the Luxembourgish scientific landscape and, in 2017, the biobank moved to a new permanent building in Dudelange.

As a biobank, we represent a bridge between science and medicine by working closely with hospitals and clinicians on one hand and researchers on the other. We collect, process, test and store biological samples, including blood, urine, tissue, saliva and stool, from volunteers, both patients and healthy individuals, with their consent. In addition we collect medical data related to the samples, such as age, gender or diagnosis. All identifying information is removed from the samples and data, so everything is completely pseudonymised. The samples and data are then made available to research organisations. Scientists need them to study the causes and effects of human diseases and develop better prevention measures, better diagnostic tests and better therapies. To find out how it works, watch our video:

More than a traditional biobank

batiment-ibblIn many ways IBBL is more than a traditional biobank, which is where the name Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg comes from. In addition to the traditional sample collection and storage, we have integrated a range of different activities to support medical research, including advanced analysis technologies and our own internal biospecimen research.

The later allows us to optimise the way in which biological samples are collected and processed to ensure that they are of high quality and suitable for the research they are intended for. Our commitment to quality and research has attracted the attention of several prestigious international organisations such as the US National Cancer Institute, the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer, the European Consortium SPIDIA for Parkinson’s Disease, the EU Joint Programme on Neurodegenerative Diseases and the Breast International Group, all of which we now count among our partners.

Collaboration with both national and international partners

Beyond providing biological samples and data, our mission is to foster scientific excellence and build partnerships with both national and international partners. Ultimately, this will allow us to accelerate the use of personalised healthcare for the benefit of the people of Luxembourg. To accomplish this aim, we have identified a series of goals:

  • To establish all of the necessary core activities for biobanking in Luxembourg;
  • To enhance the technological services available to the research community;
  • To support the priority research programmes in the personalised medicine initiative in Luxembourg (cancer, diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, general population, microbiome) and carry out biospecimen research;
  • To seek partnership opportunities in all areas of our priority research programmes.

By the end of 2017, we had collected over 429,000 biological samples. Some of these we store for our international partners, but many of them are derived from participants in Luxembourg and the Greater Region, who have put their trust in us and donated their samples for research.

All our samples and data are collected, secured and redistributed to the highest ethical and data protection standards, in accordance with the National Research Ethics Committee and the National Commission for Data Protection.

For more detailed information about IBBL, visit our corporate site : www.ibbl.lu

Über IBBL

Das IBBL (Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg) Institut ist eine Biobank, die sich der Verbesserung der Gesundheitsversorgung, zum Wohle der Patienten, widmet.

Unsere Geschichte beginnt 2008, als die Regierung Luxemburgs den „Gesundheitswissenschaften- und Technologie-Aktionsplan“ ins Leben rief und sich zur Einrichtung eines Exzellenz-Zentrums für biomedizinische Forschung und Entwicklung in Luxemburg verpflichtete. Mit Unterstützung des Forschungs-, des Gesundheits- und des Wirtschaftsministeriums öffneten wir zwei Jahre später unsere Türen neben dem Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich IBBL zu einem etablierten Player in der luxemburgischen Wissenschaftslandschaft entwickelt und im Jahr 2017 zog die Biobank in ein permanentes Gebäude in Dudelange um.

Wir schlagen eine Brücke zwischen Wissenschaft und Medizin, indem wir eng mit Krankenhäusern und Ärzten einerseits und Forschern andererseits zusammenarbeiten. Als Biobank sammeln, bearbeiten, testen und lagern wir biologische Proben d.h. Blut, Urin, Gewebe, Speichel und Stuhl von sowohl freiwilligen Patienten als auch von gesunden Personen, mit ihrem Einverständnis. Außerdem sammeln wir mit den Proben einhergehende medizinische Daten, wie Alter, Geschlecht oder Diagnose. Alle persönlichen Daten werden von den Proben und den Daten entfernt, so dass alles völlig anonym ist. Die Proben und Daten werden dann Forschungsorganisationen zugänglich gemacht. Wissenschaftler benötigen diese Proben, um die Ursachen und Auswirkungen menschlicher Krankheiten zu studieren und um bessere Vorbeugungsmaßnahmen, bessere diagnostische Tests und bessere Therapien zu entwickeln. Um zu sehen, wie dies funktioniert, schauen Sie sich unser Video an.

Mehr als eine traditionelle Biobank

batiment-ibblIn vielerlei Hinsicht ist die IBBL mehr als eine traditionelle Biobank, daher auch der Name Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg. Zusätzlich zur traditionellen Sammlung und Lagerung von Proben haben wir eine Reihe anderer Aktivitäten eingebracht, um die medizinische Forschung zu unterstützen, einschließlich moderner Analysetechnologien und unserer eigenen internen Forschung bezüglich biologischer Proben.

Letzteres ermöglicht es uns, die Art und Weise zu optimieren, wie biologische Proben gesammelt und bearbeitet werden, um sicherzustellen, dass die Proben qualitativ hochwertig und für die vorgesehene Forschung angemessen sind. Unsere Verpflichtung zu Qualität und Forschung hat bereits die Aufmerksamkeit einiger angesehener internationaler Organisationen erregt, wie dem US National Cancer Institute, der “European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer” [Europäischen Organisation für Krebsforschung und -behandlung], des “European Consortium SPIDIA for Parkinson’s Disease” [Europäisches Konsortium für Parkinson Krankheit], dem EU Joint Programme on Neurodegenerative Diseases und der Breast International Group, die inzwischen alle zu unseren Partnern gehören.

Aufbau von Partnerschaften mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern

Zusätzlich dazu, dass biologische Proben und Daten zur Verfügung gestellt werden, ist es unsere Aufgabe, wissenschaftliche Spitzenleistungen zu fördern und Partnerschaften mit sowohl nationalen als auch internationalen Partnern aufzubauen. Dies wird uns dabei helfen personalisierte Medizin schneller, zum Nutzen der Bevölkerung, einzusetzen. Um diese Mission zu erfüllen, haben wir uns eine Reihe von Zielen gesetzt :

  • Einrichtung aller wichtiger Grundaktivitäten einer Biobank in Luxemburg
  • Verbesserung der technologischen Dienstleistungen, die der Forschungsgemeinschaft zur Verfügung stehen
  • Unterstützung der Forschungsprogramme, hauptsächlich innerhalb der Initiative für personalisierte Medizin in Luxemburg (Krebs, Diabetes, Parkinson, Allgemeine Bevölkerung, Mikrobiom), sowie Forschung abezüglich biologischer Proben
  • Aufbau von Partnerschaften auf allen Gebieten unserer Aktivitäten

Bis Ende 2017 hatten wir über 429.000 biologische Proben gesammelt. Einige bewahren wir im Auftrag unserer internationalen Partner auf, aber viele stammen von Teilnehmern in Luxemburg und der Grossregion, die uns vertrauen und ihre Probe für die Forschung gespendet haben.

Alle unsere Proben und Daten werden gemäß der höchsten Standards der Ethik und des Datenschutzes gesammelt, gesichert und verteilt, in Übereinstimmung mit den Vorgaben des nationalen Ethikkomitees für Forschung  (CNER) und der nationalen Datenschutzkommission (CNPD).

Für weitere Informationen über IBBL besuchen Sie unseres geschäftliche Website : www.ibbl.lu