Microbiome

Twenty years ago, bacteria were seen as the public enemy number one of human health. Today, we know that many of them are actually beneficial and may even be required to keep us healthy.

This new understanding of the relationship between the human body and the microorganisms living on or in it was brought about by research into the human microbiome. The term microbiome describes all the microorganisms living in a given environment, for example the human gut. Given that the number of microbial cells is far larger than the number of human cells in a body, it is not surprising that the former actually play an important role in human health. Over the past years links between the microbiome in the gut and diseases such as irritable bowel syndrome, Crohn’s disease, obesity and even Parkinson’s disease have been established.

Linking bacteria to obesity & diabetes

Even though the field of human microbiome research has made major progress, we still do not fully understand how and why these microorganisms cause, or maybe prevent, disease. However, it seems that the composition of the whole microbial environment and the balance between different species can make the difference between health and sickness. This is especially true for the gut, where, the higher your bacterial diversity, the healthier you will be, at least when it comes to your waistline. In 2016, a study carried out by the LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine), the CHL (Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg), the CHEM (Centre Hospitalier Emile Mayrisch) and IBBL untangled the links between gut microbiome and type 1 diabetes. Researchers showed clear differences in the way bacteria function between healthy and diabetic individuals. This study is a prime example of the great promise that research into the human microbiome holds, because in many cases it can be easily modified by diet, probiotics or fecal transplants. However, before any of these interventions make their way into the clinic it is important to further elucidate the complex network of interactions between the bacterial communities and human cells.

Microbiome research in Luxembourg

For several years now, Luxembourg-based researchers have been very active in the field of microbiome research. In 2016, the Luxembourg Society for Microbiology was founded by IBBL, the BioHealth Cluster, the LIST (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), the LNS (Laboratoire National de Santé), the LIH (Luxembourg Institute of Health) and the LCSB in order to consolidate all the activities in the field of microbiology on the national level. The overall ambition of the society is to provide a forum for interaction and exchange of knowledge and expertise in microbiology. The “First Luxembourg Microbiology Day” held one year later was a great success and the occasion for its members to come together and foster new synergies.

Becoming microbiome experts

In addition to collecting biological samples for studies, we support microbiome research by evaluating diffrerent ways to process microbiome samples. For example, our scientists recently tested six different stool collection tubes and three different methods to extract DNA from stool samples, to determine which one is optimal. In 2016, IBBL became the first biobank worldwide to be accredited for the next-generation 16S rRNA gene sequencing, an in-house developed method that allows scientists to obtain the complete bacterial profile of a given sample.

Being committed to the microbiome as a priority research domain, we also co-organised the 5th International Human Microbiome Congress (IHMC) from the 31st March to the 2nd April 2015 in Luxembourg. Under the title “Future Directions for Human Microbiome Research in Health and Disease”, the congress welcomed 50 renowned microbiome expert speakers and over 600 participants, from all corners of the world. For three days, the scientists discussed new research methods, potential therapies, and the latest findings on the role of the microbiome in human disease.

Le microbiome

Il y une vingtaine d’années, les bactéries étaient considérées comme l’ennemi public numéro un de la santé humaine. Aujourd’hui, nous savons que beaucoup d’entre elles sont en fait bénéfiques et peuvent même être nécessaires pour nous maintenir en bonne santé.

Cette nouvelle compréhension de la relation entre le corps humain et les micro-organismes vivant sur ou dans celui-ci découle de la recherche sur le microbiome humain. Le terme microbiome décrit tous les micro-organismes vivant dans un environnement donné (par exemple le tube digestif humain). Étant donné que la quantité de cellules microbiennes est beaucoup plus importante que la quantité de cellules humaines dans un corps, il n’est pas étonnant que ces cellules microbiennes jouent un rôle prépondérant dans la santé humaine. Au cours des dernières années, des liens ont été établis entre le microbiome dans l’intestin et des maladies telles que le syndrome du côlon irritable, la maladie de Crohn, l’obésité voire la maladie de Parkinson.

Lier les bactéries à l’obésité et au diabète

Même si d’importants progrès ont été réalisés dans le domaine de la recherche sur le microbiome humain, nous ne saisissons pas encore complètement comment ni pourquoi ces micro-organismes causent, ou évitent, le développement d’une maladie. Néanmoins, il semble que l’environnement microbien et l’équilibre entre les différentes espèces peuvent faire la différence entre santé et maladie. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour l’intestin : en effet, plus votre diversité bactérienne est importante, plus vous serez en bonne santé, du moins quand il s’agit de votre tour de taille. En 2016, une étude menée par le Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), le Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL), le Centre Hospitalier Emile Mayrisch (CHEM) et IBBL a mis au jour une corrélation entre microbiome intestinal et diabète de type 1. Les chercheurs ont découvert des différences notables dans le comportement des bactéries chez des individus sains et diabétiques. Cette étude est un excellent exemple du grand potentiel que détient la recherche sur le microbiome humain, car dans de nombreux cas, il peut être facilement modifié par l’alimentation, les probiotiques ou les transplantations fécales. Toutefois, avant que ces interventions fassent leur chemin jusqu’à l’application clinique, il est important d’analyser davantage le réseau complexe d’interactions entre les communautés bactériennes et les cellules humaines.

La recherche active au Luxembourg

Depuis plusieurs années, les chercheurs luxembourgeois sont très actifs dans ce domaine. La Luxembourg Society for Microbiology a vu le jour en 2016, regroupant IBBL, le BioHealth Cluster, l’Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), le Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS), le Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH) et le LCSB dans le but de consolider toutes les activités en microbiologie à l’échelle nationale. Cette société a pour ambition majeure de servir de forum d’intéraction et d’échange de savoir, d’expertise dans le domaine. La première Journée de la Microbiologie au Luxembourg s’est tenue un an plus tard et a connu un franc succès. Ce fut l’occasion idéale pour ses membres de se rassembler et de promouvoir de nouvelles synergies.

Devenir des experts sur le microbiome

En plus de recueillir des échantillons biologiques, nous soutenons la recherche sur le microbiome en examinant les différentes manières de traiter ces échantillons. À titre d’exemple, nos scientifiques ont récemment testé six tubes de prélèvement de selles différents et trois façons d’extraire l’ADN à partir d’échantillons de selles afin de déterminer quelle est la solution optimale. En 2016, IBBL s’est elevée au rang des premières biobanques mondiales à être accréditées pour le séquençage 16S rRNA de prochaine génération, une méthode développée en interne qui fournit aux scientifiques le profile bactérien complet d’un échantillon donné.

Ayant établi le microbiome comme domaine de recherche prioritaire, nous avons également coorganisé le 5e congrès international sur le microbiome humain humain (5th International Human Microbiome Congress – IHMC) en 2015 au Luxembourg. Intitulé « Les Orientations Futures de la Recherche sur le Microbiome Humain dans les Domaines de la Santé et de la Maladie », le congrès a accueilli 50 conférenciers experts en matière de microbiome et plus de 600 participants, provenant des quatre coins du monde. Pendant trois jours, les scientifiques ont débattu sur les nouvelles méthodes de recherche, les potentielles thérapies et les dernières découvertes sur le rôle du microbiome dans la maladie humaine.