Our Research Programmes

We believe a personalised approach to medicine is the key to improving health outcomes for patients. The idea behind this Personalised Medicine is that healthcare can be customised to fit the unique characteristics of each person’s disease.

Based on each individual’s genetic and molecular make up, personalised medicine recognises individual differences in the causes and progression of diseases. This approach can lead to earlier, more effective diagnosis and treatment, improved prevention strategies and improved monitoring of side-effects, which ultimately benefits the individual patient as well as the healthcare system overall.

As a biobank, we promote personalised medicine by working closely with clinicians and providing researchers with the biological samples, data and technologies they need. In Luxembourg, the organisations that are committed to personalising healthcare work together under the umbrella of the Personalised Medicine Consortium (PMC). As an initiative to foster collaborative research, the PMC regroups IBBL, the Luxembourg Institute of Health  (LIH) and the Laboratoire National de Santé (LNS), as well as the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) and the Life Sciences Research Unit (LSRU) of the University of Luxembourg.

Together with these partners and the Luxembourg government we have decided to make certain diseases and research areas a priority. Discover our research programmes:

Nos programmes de recherche

Nous pensons qu’une approche personnalisée de la médecine est la clé pour améliorer la santé des patients. Derrière le terme « médecine personnalisée » se cache l’idée que les services de santé peuvent être adaptés afin de répondre aux caractéristiques uniques de la maladie de chaque personne.

La médecine personnalisée, basée sur la composition moléculaire et génétique de chaque individu, reconnaît les différences individuelles dans les causes et la progression des maladies. Cette démarche peut entraîner des diagnostics et traitements plus précoces et plus efficaces, des stratégies de prévention améliorées et une meilleure surveillance des effets secondaires. Finalement, cette approche profite au patient en particulier tout comme au système de santé dans son ensemble.

En tant que biobanque, nous soutenons la médecine personnalisée en collaborant étroitement avec les cliniciens et en fournissant aux chercheurs les échantillons biologiques, données et technologies dont ils ont besoin. Au Luxembourg, les organisations qui se sont engagées pour la personnalisation des soins médicaux travaillent sous l’égide du Personalised Medicine Consortium (PMC). Dans le but d’encourager la recherche menée en collaboration, le PMC regroupe les grands hôpitaux du pays, IBBL, le Luxembourg Institute of Health  (LIH) et le Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB), à l’Université du Luxembourg.

Avec ces partenaires et en accord avec le gouvernement du Luxembourg, nous avons décidé de faire de certaines maladies et secteurs de recherche une priorité.