About IBBL

The IBBL (Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg) Institute is a biobank dedicated to supporting biomedical research for the benefit of patients.

Our story begins in 2008, when the Luxembourg government launched the “Health Sciences and Technologies Action Plan”, a commitment to the creation of a center of excellence in biomedical research and development in Luxembourg. Supported by the Ministry of Research, the Ministry of Health and the Ministry of Economy, we opened our doors two years later, next to the Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg.

Over the years, IBBL has progressively grown into an established player in the Luxembourgish scientific landscape and, in 2017, the biobank moved to a new permanent building in Dudelange.

As a biobank, we represent a bridge between science and medicine by working closely with hospitals and clinicians on one hand and researchers on the other. We collect, process, test and store biological samples, including blood, urine, tissue, saliva and stool, from volunteers, both patients and healthy individuals, with their consent. In addition we collect medical data related to the samples, such as age, gender or diagnosis. All identifying information is removed from the samples and data, so everything is completely pseudonymised. The samples and data are then made available to research organisations. Scientists need them to study the causes and effects of human diseases and develop better prevention measures, better diagnostic tests and better therapies. To find out how it works, watch our video:

More than a traditional biobank

batiment-ibblIn many ways IBBL is more than a traditional biobank, which is where the name Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg comes from. In addition to the traditional sample collection and storage, we have integrated a range of different activities to support medical research, including advanced analysis technologies and our own internal biospecimen research.

The later allows us to optimise the way in which biological samples are collected and processed to ensure that they are of high quality and suitable for the research they are intended for. Our commitment to quality and research has attracted the attention of several prestigious international organisations such as the US National Cancer Institute, the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer, the European Consortium SPIDIA for Parkinson’s Disease, the EU Joint Programme on Neurodegenerative Diseases and the Breast International Group, all of which we now count among our partners.

Collaboration with both national and international partners

Beyond providing biological samples and data, our mission is to foster scientific excellence and build partnerships with both national and international partners. Ultimately, this will allow us to accelerate the use of personalised healthcare for the benefit of the people of Luxembourg. To accomplish this aim, we have identified a series of goals:

  • To establish all of the necessary core activities for biobanking in Luxembourg;
  • To enhance the technological services available to the research community;
  • To support the priority research programmes in the personalised medicine initiative in Luxembourg (cancer, diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, general population, microbiome) and carry out biospecimen research;
  • To seek partnership opportunities in all areas of our priority research programmes.

By the end of 2017, we had collected over 429,000 biological samples. Some of these we store for our international partners, but many of them are derived from participants in Luxembourg and the Greater Region, who have put their trust in us and donated their samples for research.

All our samples and data are collected, secured and redistributed to the highest ethical and data protection standards, in accordance with the National Research Ethics Committee and the National Commission for Data Protection.

For more detailed information about IBBL, visit our corporate site : www.ibbl.lu

À propos d’IBBL

IBBL (Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg) est une biobanque dont l’objectif est d’améliorer les résultats en termes de santé pour les patients.

Notre histoire débute en 2008, avec le lancement par le gouvernement luxembourgeois du « Plan d’Action pour les Sciences et Technologies de la Santé », un engagement en faveur de la création d’un centre d’excellence dans la recherche et le développement biomédical au Luxembourg. Soutenue par les Ministères de la Recherche, de la Santé et de l’Économie, la biobanque a ouvert ses portes deux ans plus tard, à côté du Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg (CHL).

Au cours des ans, IBBL est devenu un joueur avéré dans le monde scientifique luxembourgeois. Si bien qu’en 2017, nous avons déménagé dans un nouvel établissement permanent situé à Dudelange.

En travaillant avec les hôpitaux et les cliniciens d’un côté et avec les chercheurs de l’autre, nous créons une passerelle entre la science et la médecine. En tant que biobanque, nous recueillons, traitons, testons et conservons des échantillons biologiques comme le sang, l’urine, les tissus, la salive et les selles, prélevés sur des volontaires sains et malades avec leur consentement. De plus, nous recueillons des données médicales en lien avec l’échantillon, telles que l’âge, le sexe ou bien le diagnostic. Les échantillons et les données n’incluent aucune information permettant d’identifier le patient, ce qui rend le processus entièrement anonyme. Les échantillons et les données sont ensuite mis à la disposition des instituts de recherche. Ceux-ci sont indispensables aux scientifiques pour leur permettre d’étudier les causes et effets des maladies et développer de meilleures mesures de prévention, tests diagnostiques et traitements. Pour comprendre comment cela fonctionne, regardez notre vidéo sur les activités de la biobanque.

Bien plus qu’une biobanque

batiment-ibbl

À bien des égards, IBBL est plus qu’une simple biobanque, d’où son nom Integrated BioBank of Luxembourg. En plus des traditionnelles collectes et conservations d’échantillons, nous avons développé un éventail d’activités visant à soutenir la recherche médicale, ce qui inclut des technologies d’analyse de pointe ainsi que notre service interne de recherche sur les échantillons biologiques.

Ce dernier nous permet d’optimiser la manière dont les échantillons sont collectés et traités pour avoir la certitude qu’ils sont de bonne qualité et adaptés au type de recherche auquel ils sont destinés. Notre engagement pour la qualité et la recherche a déjà attiré l’attention de nombreuses organisations internationales de renom, telles que l’Institut national du cancer des États-Unis, le Programme commun de l’Union européenne sur les maladies neurodégénératives, l’Organisation européenne pour la recherche et le traitement du cancer, le Consortium européen SPIDIA pour la maladie de Parkinson, et le Breast International Group. Tous comptent désormais parmi nos partenaires.

Encourager l’excellence scientifique avec des partenariats productifs

En plus de fournir des échantillons et des données biologiques, nous avons pour but d’encourager l’excellence scientifique et d’établir des partenariats nationaux et internationaux. En fin de compte, cela nous permettra d’accélérer le recours à la médecine personnalisée pour le bien de la population du Luxembourg. Dans cet objectif, nous nous sommes fixés plusieurs priorités :

  • Établir au Luxembourg toutes les activités fondamentales nécessaires à la biobanque;

  • Améliorer les services technologiques disponibles pour la communauté scientifique;

  • Soutenir les programmes de recherche prioritaires de l’initiative de la médecine personnalisée au Luxembourg (cancer, diabète, maladie de Parkinson, population générale, microbiome) et mener des recherches pré-analytiques sur les échantillons biologiques;

  • Établir des partenariats dans tous nos domaines d’activité.

A la fin de 2017, nous avions collecté plus de 429 000 échantillons biologiques. Un certain nombre sont stockés pour le compte de nos partenaires internationaux. Beaucoup proviennent cependant de donneurs volontaires qui vivent au Luxembourg et dans la Grande Région, qui nous font confiance et ont fait don de leurs échantillons pour la recherche. Tous nos échantillons et données sont recueillis, sécurisés et redistribués selon les plus hautes normes de protection des données et d’éthique, en conformité avec les dispositions du Comité National d’Éthique de Recherche et de la Commission Nationale pour la Protection des Données.

Pour plus d’informations à propos d’IBBL, veuillez consulter notre site institutionnel : www.ibbl.lu.